Malcolm Staniford created the Origins Awards in 2005.  What started as an event with only 65 entries expanded into an annual event.  To date, we have more than a thousand participating writers, publishers, studios, game developers, designers, artists, and sound composers from all over the world.  This does not include the online gamers who participated in the pre-testing and preliminary selection of each year’s final roster of contestants.

Games were played on phones with a 176 x 220 pixel resolution in early 2005.  These games have a file size of less than 1 MB.  Nowadays, games run on multiple devices with a 2048 x 1536 pixel resolution.  Furthermore, most games have large file sizes, with some being more than 1GB.  There were only 10 categories for the first Origins Awards.  These took only a day of judging, with the pre-selection done in a week’s time. Today, there are at least 20 prominent, competent, and accomplished personalities who come to judge the annual event.

Eighty percent of the entries in 2005 came from the US and Germany. The rest of the entries were from other European and Asian countries.  Today, game entries are submitted by developers from all the continents except Antarctica with a total of 78 countries represented.  In fact, submissions from Asia, South America, and Africa are increasing. We are proud to say that we at Origins Awards have not just witnessed the growth of the mobile gaming industry, we were, and still are, among the biggest contributors to its growth.

The Origins Awards ceremonies are held annually on the 1st of December in Munich, Germany.

List of Mobile Game of the Year Awardees

  • 2005 – AR Tennis
  • 2006 – Triangler
  • 2007 – Metal Gear Solid Mobile
  • 2008 – Edge
  • 2009 – Labyrinth 2
  • 2010 – Beyond Ynth
  • 2011 – Infinity Blade II
  • 2012 – Walking Dead: The Game
  • 2013 – Badland
  • 2014 – Monument Valley
  • 2015 – Her Story
  • 2016 – Pokémon Go
  • 2017 – Legend of Zelda